Artificial insemination and the Christian.

Episode 1432

This entry was posted in Daily Clips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Artificial insemination and the Christian.

  1. There is a difference between artificial insemination and in vitro fertilization. AI is were sperm is placed inside the uterus while IVF extracts eggs from a woman, fertilizes it with sperm in a lab, and then places the days old embryos within the uterus.

    There are MAJOR ethical issues attached to these practices, which make even the one egg implantation a hard pill to swallow, especially when there are “donor” gametes involved. Please check out Jennifer Lahls’ films Eggsploitation and (my personal favorite) Anonymous Father’s Day (I’m the brunette in this one) which explores some of the many, many issues surrounding these practices.

  2. Lorraine says:

    Just want to say that I’ve been a Christian since 1992. I’m single and used artificial insemination to conceive two children via the same sperm donor. While some people may disagree with this (especially for singles) I’m glad that you are framing it the way you are. There are things that are not specified in scripture and such issues are between the person and God (with not a bad idea to counsel with a trusted person/pastor). I came to the decision to use a donor (my first choice was adoption) because the whole sin issue (fornication) weighed heavily on my mind and I just could not willfully conceive a child via fornication. That opportunity presented itself but I refused. I felt totally at peace with myself and most of all with God about using a donor. I’m in touch with almost all the families that used the same donor (we are few in number) and ironically, another mom is a single christian as well.

    Again, I agree that this is between the person and God but there are some specific things that we can consider from scripture. Some parents (heterosexual couples in particular) keep this information from the child and outright deceive them about their origins. What does the bible say about lies?

    So using a donor or artificial insemination may not be a sin in and of itself, but like in everything, the possibility to cross that line exists. Similar to adoption not being a sin but deceiving a mother to give up her baby so that one can make money selling the child to a couple is sinful.

    • ab says:

      Lorraine…. very much appreciate your answer as I am a Christian who just turned 40, never married and who has been considering AI for a year now. I am now moving into “serious” consideration with a timeline of next Feb or April, after a serious time in prayer between now and then. Should God confirm, one of the things I wanted to do was talk to a Christian woman who has done this. Would you be willing to chat… or know someone who would be? Just looking into options and I love your heart behind what you’ve shared. God bless,
      ab

      • Lorraine says:

        Yes I’m willing to talk to about this if you are still interested. Send me a message via the link in the first response if you are on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

